India vs Australia 2nd ODI: Virat Kohli scored his 39th century in ODI cricket.

Virat Kohli produced a sublime 104-run knock as India defeated Australia by six wickets in the second One-day International (ODI) in Adelaide on Tuesday to level the three-match series 1-1. Riding on the 39th century from the skipper, India also registered the second highest successful run-chase at the Adelaide Oval. Chasing a tricky target of 299, India got off to a solid start with openers Shikhar Dhawan (32) and Rohit Sharma (43) contributing 47 runs for the first wicket. Rohit, then recorded a crucial 54-run partnership with Kohli, keeping India’s run-chase on course. After the departure of Rohit, Kohli then strung a 59-run partnership with Ambati Rayudu for the third wicket. Rayudu was looking in good touch but got out for 24 after playing a poor shot against part-timer Glenn Maxwell. But Kohli held the Indian run-chase together from one end. He along with MS Dhoni added 82 runs for the fourth wicket, taking India closer to the target. Towards the end, Dhoni (55 not out) along with Dinesh Karthik (25 not out) took India across the line with four balls to spare. The Australian bowlers had a poor outing as none of them were able to make any real impact. Jason Behrendorff, Jhye Richardson, Marcus Stoinis and Glenn Maxwell managed a wicket apiece.

Australian captain Aaron Finch wins toss, opts to bat against India in the second ODI in Adelaide.

Mohammad Siraj makes his debut for India, Khaleel Ahmed makes way for him. Australia are unchanged.

India skipper Virat Kohli says that they would have batted first as well, considering the conditions which are hot and humid. Hopes that the breeze will be there continuously. Reckons it’s a great opportunity for them as they are under pressure to come back in the series. Adds that they have one change to their line-up with Mohammed Siraj replacing Khaleel Ahmed.

Aaron Finch feels it is a good wicket and won’t change much. Mentions that they don’t want to change things too much from the previous game where they batted first and won. Informs that they do not have any changes in personnel.

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli(c), Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni(w), Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami

Australia (Playing XI): Aaron Finch(c), Alex Carey(w), Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Nathan Lyon, Peter Siddle, Jhye Richardson, Jason Behrendorff


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here